James Taylor: Covers


1.  It’s Growing LYRICS
2.  (I’m A) Road Runner LYRICS
3.  Wichita Lineman LYRICS
4.  Why Baby Why LYRICS
5.  Some Days You Gotta Dance LYRICS
6.  Seminole Wind LYRICS
7.  Suzanne LYRICS
8.  Hound Dog LYRICS
9.  Sadie LYRICS
10.  On Broadway LYRICS
11.  Summertime Blues LYRICS
12.  Not Fade Away LYRICS

Covers is the sixteenth studio album and the first “covers” album by singer-songwriter James Taylor, released on September 30, 2008. The album was recorded by Taylor’s regular touring band. Some of the tunes Taylor had been performing off and on in concerts for years, while others were new to his repertoire. The effort garnered modestly good reviews and two Grammy Award nominations.


“Get a Job” — (The Silhouettes)
“In the Midnight Hour” — (Wilson Pickett, Steve Cropper)
“Knock on Wood” — (Eddie Floyd, Steve Cropper)
“Oh, What a Beautiful Mornin'” — (Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II)
Video on making of the album.

Home shopping channel QVC made available this bonus CD/DVD on September 12, 2008. Taylor and his band appeared live during two half-hour segments on QVC that date, to play songs from the album and a couple of old favorites. Over 14,000 copies of the album sold during the shows.


“Oh, What a Beautiful Mornin'” — (Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II)
“Knock on Wood” — (Eddie Floyd, Steve Cropper)
“Shiver Me Timbers” (Tom Waits)

The album was scheduled for release in the UK on February 2, 2009, and included three additional tracks. The tracks were not tacked at the end, but rather inserted at the front, before the penultimate, and at the end, respectively.  This was part of a practice to make U.S. releases less attractive for overseas sales.